Home > Employment Relations > Holidays and leave > Public holidays > Public holiday dates > Past dates

New Zealand public holiday dates 2011-15

  Actual Date Observed Datenotes
2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
New Year's Day 1 January Saturday 1 January or Monday 3 January Sunday 1 January or Tuesday 3 January Tuesday 1 January Wednesday 1 January Thursday 1 January
Day after New Year's Day 2 January Sunday 2 January or Tuesday 4 January Monday 2 Jan Wednesday 2 January Thursday 2 January Friday 2 January
Waitangi Day 6 February Sunday 6 February Monday 6 Feb Wednesday 6 February Thursday 6 February Friday 6 February
Good Friday varies Friday 22 April Friday 6 April Friday 29 March Friday 18 April Friday 3 April
Easter Monday varies Monday 25 April Monday 9 April Monday 1 April Monday 21 April Monday 6 April
ANZAC Day 25 April Monday 25 April Wednesday 25 April Thursday 25 April Friday 25 April Monday 27 April*
Queen's Birthday 1st Monday in June Monday 6 June Monday 4 June Monday 3 June Monday 2 June Monday 1 June
Labour Day 4th Monday in October Monday 24 October Monday 22 October Monday 28 October Monday 27 October Monday 26 October
Christmas Day 25 December Sunday 25 December or Tuesday 27 December Tuesday 25 December Wednesday 25 December Thursday 25 December Friday 25 December
Boxing Day 26 December Monday 26 December Wednesday 26 December Thursday 26 December Friday 26 December Saturday 26 December or Monday 28 December

The Anniversary Day of the Province in which an employee works is observed as follows:

Province Actual Date Observed Datenotes
2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Auckland 29 January Monday 31 January Monday 30 January Monday 28 January Monday 27 January Monday 26 January
Taranaki 31 March Monday 14  March Monday 12 March Monday 11 March Monday 10 March Monday 9 March
Hawke's Bay 1 November Friday 21 October Friday 19 October Friday 25 October Friday 24 October Friday 23 October
Wellington 22 January Monday 24 January Monday 23 January Monday 21 January Monday 20 January Monday 19 January
Marlborough 1 November Monday 31 October Monday 29 October Monday 4 November Monday 3 November Monday 2 November
Nelson 1 February Monday 31 January Monday 30 January Monday 4 February Monday 3 February Monday 2 February
Canterbury 16 December Friday 11 November Friday 16 November Friday 15 November Friday 14 November Friday 13 November
Canterbury (South) 16 December Monday 26 September Monday 24 September Monday 23 September Monday 22 September Monday 28 September
Westland 1 December Monday 28 November Monday 3 December Monday 2 December Monday 1 December Monday 30 November
Otago 23 March Monday 21 March Monday 26 March Monday 25 March Monday 24 March Monday 23 March
Southland 17 January Monday 17 January Tuesday 10 April Tuesday 2 April Tuesday 22 April Tuesday 7 April
Chatham Islands 30 November Monday 28 November Monday 3 December Monday 2 December Monday 1 December Monday 30 November


Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year's Day & 2 January Holiday These public holidays are observed on the actual day when they fall on a weekday. When they fall on a Saturday/Sunday:
  • If the employee would normally have worked on the Saturday/Sunday, the public holiday is observed on the Saturday/Sunday
  • If the employee would not normally have worked on the Saturday/Sunday, the public holiday is observed on the following Monday/Tuesday
Waitangi and ANZAC Days* From 1 January 2014 the public holiday for ANZAC Day and Waitangi Day will be “Mondayised” if they fall on a Saturday or Sunday.
Easter Easter dates confirmed by Catholic Church.
Provinces These relate to the former Provinces of 19th Century New Zealand and are not related to or determined by present-day Districts or Regions.
Provincial Anniversary Days These are generally observed on the Monday nearest to the actual day with exceptions listed below.
Taranaki Anniversary Moves to 2nd Monday in March to avoid Easter.
Hawke's Bay Anniversary Moves to Friday before Labour Day.
Marlborough Anniversary Observed 1st Monday after Labour Day.
Canterbury Anniversary Northern & Central Canterbury areas observe Christchurch Show Day. The definition for the Canterbury Anniversary Day celebration as decided by Christchurch City is the second Friday after the first Tuesday in November each year. South Canterbury observes Dominion Day, the 4th Monday in September.
Westland Anniversary Varies throughout Westland, but Greymouth observes the official day.
Otago Anniversary As there is no easily determined single day of local observance for Otago then the parties should rely on either their employment agreement or their own custom and practice. Where there is no clear custom and practice then the parties should seek to find an agreement on how they will observe Anniversary Day.

If parties are unhappy with how this matter has been handled in their workplace they can seek assistance from a Labour Inspector, or if they require help to settle agreement in their workplace they can seek assistance from the Department's mediation service.
Southland Anniversary In December 2011 the three southern Mayors decided Southland Anniversary Day will be celebrated on Easter Tuesday