Home > Employment Relations > Holidays and leave > Public holidays > Public holiday dates

Public holiday dates

While these lists have been compiled from the information provided, in good faith, we can give no guarantees of accuracy.

For employment purposes, there are 11 public (also known as statutory) holidays provided under the Holidays Act 2003. The Act lists the holidays, but does not generally set dates for them.

From our enquires with the various organisations associated with the fixing of public holidays, we have compiled lists for each year through to 2021.

You can get school holiday dates from the Ministry of Education [external site].

In the links directly above, you can select the year of your choice to find the public holiday dates for that year.

ANZAC Day and Waitangi Day are also “Mondayised” if they fall on a Saturday or Sunday.

Public holiday dataset

This dataset contains a list of all national and provincial public holidays for the years between 1980 and 2020, based on the published rules that govern those dates.

The dataset includes the actual date of the holiday as well as the date it was observed for the given year. Mondayisation rules are applied to observed dates when applicable, from when this change happened.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 New Zealand License.